Pingdom pricing has no named plans. You pick a quantity on a slider for each of two products, Synthetic Monitoring (uptime and transaction checks) and Real User Monitoring (pageviews), and pay monthly or annually. On the official USD calculator as of August 17, 2026, Synthetic Monitoring starts at $18/mo ($16.50/mo billed annually) for 10 uptime checks, 1 advanced check and 50 SMS credits, and climbs to $78/mo for 50 checks, $149/mo for 100 and $680/mo for 500. Real User Monitoring starts at the same $18/mo for 100,000 pageviews. There is no free tier, only a trial.
This guide explains how the slider works, what a realistic bill looks like at four check counts, what the pricing page leaves out, how Synthetics and RUM differ, and who the model fits. At the end I compare it with a flat-rate plan from Hyperping, with my conflict of interest stated plainly.
Figures are from Pingdom's official USD calculator on pingdom.com/pricing as of August 17, 2026. Product pages still print "Starts at $10 per month"; the calculator's first step is $18. The page localizes by region, so a visitor outside the US may see a different currency. Every figure below is USD.
Quick summary
- Pingdom sells two products on two 22-step sliders, Synthetic Monitoring (checks) and Real User Monitoring (pageviews), each starting at $18/mo or $16.50/mo on annual billing. There are no named tiers and no free plan.
- Synthetic Monitoring costs $18 for 10 uptime checks, $78 for 50, $149 for 100, $680 for 500 and $1,295 for 1,000 per month. Annual billing takes about 8% to 9% off, so 50 checks land at $858 a year.
- The per-check price falls slowly as you scale: $1.80 per check at 10, $1.56 at 50, $1.49 at 100, $1.36 at 500 and $1.30 at 1,000. The slider continues to 30,000 uptime checks.
- Real User Monitoring is $18 for 100,000 pageviews, $78 for 500,000, $118 for 1 million and $352 for 5 million a month, with unlimited sites and 13-month retention. A quote-only Enterprise track is listed for 500,000 to 5 million-plus pageviews.
- The pricing page does not state check frequency, status page limits, trial length or SMS overage costs. Users are listed as unlimited on both products. Docs put uptime at 1 minute and transactions at 5 minutes. The customers page lists a 30-day trial.
Why listen to us?
I am Léo, founder of Hyperping. Hyperping competes with Pingdom's Synthetic Monitoring product, so I have a stake in how this comparison reads. Hyperping does not compete with Real User Monitoring, and I will say so again when we get there.
For this piece I read the Pingdom pricing page's USD calculator on August 17, 2026 and noted the price at each slider anchor I quote. The numbers come from the page itself, not from a third-party summary. I did not run a paid Pingdom account for this article, which is why I flag every place where the pricing page is silent instead of filling the gap from memory.
How does Pingdom pricing work?
Pingdom does not have a Starter, Pro or Business plan. Instead, the pricing page shows two product cards, each with a quantity dropdown that behaves like a slider with 22 steps, plus a monthly or annual billing toggle. The price updates as you move the slider, and the two products are bought independently, so you can run Synthetics alone, RUM alone, or both.
The three parts of the model:
- Synthetic Monitoring is priced by the number of uptime checks in your bundle. Each step also carries a number of advanced (transaction) checks and a pool of SMS credits. The ladder runs from 10 uptime checks to 30,000.
- Real User Monitoring is priced by monthly pageviews across all your sites. Sites and users are unlimited on every step.
- Enterprise is a quote-only track described on the page as running "from 500K to over 5M pageviews a month". No numbers are shown.
Annual billing is the default toggle and shows a per-month figure. The discount is about 8% to 9% across the steps I recorded ($18 down to $16.50 at the entry step, $78 down to $71.50 at 50 checks, $149 down to $136.42 at 100).
The consequence of a slider is that you rarely land exactly on the number of checks you need. If you run 12 monitors, you buy the step above 10. Every step is a bundle, and there is no per-check add-on shown on the page.
What does Pingdom Synthetic Monitoring cost?
The Synthetic Monitoring slider has 22 steps. I did not record every intermediate step, so the table shows the USD anchors I noted, which are the ones most teams price against.
| Uptime checks | Monthly billing | Annual billing (per month) | Per uptime check (monthly) |
|---|---|---|---|
| 10 (+ 1 advanced check, 50 SMS) | $18 | $16.50 | $1.80 |
| 25 (+ 4 advanced, 100 SMS) | $40 | $36.33 | $1.60 |
| 50 (+ 10 advanced, 200 SMS) | $78 | $71.50 | $1.56 |
| 100 (+ 20 advanced, 350 SMS) | $149 | $136.42 | $1.49 |
| 200 (+ 30 advanced, 400 SMS) | $290 | $265.17 | $1.45 |
| 500 (+ 50 advanced, 1,000 SMS) | $680 | $622.67 | $1.36 |
| 1,000 (+ 80 advanced, 1,000 SMS) | $1,295 | $1,186.92 | $1.30 |
The slider keeps going to 30,000 uptime checks. I did not quote those higher USD steps here.
Every step of Synthetic Monitoring includes the same feature list, per the pricing page:
- Uptime monitoring, transaction (advanced) monitoring and page speed monitoring
- Email and SMS alerting, with SMS credits bundled per step (50 at the 10-check step, 1,000 from 500 checks through the 1,000-check step I recorded)
- Maintenance windows
- Public status pages and reports
- Unlimited users
Two things stand out in this ladder. The biggest relative jump is still near the bottom: going from 10 checks to 50 multiplies the price by about 4.3x for five times the checks. The 25-check step at $40 is the real next stop if 10 is too small. The volume discount is also shallow: between 100 and 1,000 checks the per-check price only moves from $1.49 to $1.30, so ten times the checks costs about 8.7 times the money.
What does a realistic Pingdom bill look like?
Most of the teams I talk to sit somewhere between 10 and 500 checks. Here is what those four counts cost on Synthetic Monitoring alone, on both billing options, with the annual total spelled out.
| Setup | Monthly billing | Annual billing (per month) | Annual total | What you get |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Side project, 10 checks | $18/mo | $16.50/mo | $198/yr | 10 uptime + 1 advanced check, 50 SMS |
| Small team, 50 checks | $78/mo | $71.50/mo | $858/yr | 50 uptime + 10 advanced, 200 SMS |
| Growing SaaS, 100 checks | $149/mo | $136.42/mo | $1,637/yr | 100 uptime + 20 advanced, 350 SMS |
| Larger estate, 500 checks | $680/mo | $622.67/mo | $7,472/yr | 500 uptime + 50 advanced, 1,000 SMS |
The 10-check step is a good deal on paper. $18 for uptime, one transaction check, page speed and a status page is a fair entry price. The problem is that 10 checks is very few once you monitor a marketing site, an app, an API and staging. Most production teams cross it in the first month, and the next recorded step is already $40.
At 50 and 100 checks, Pingdom lands at $78 and $149 a month. Whether that feels expensive depends on whether you use the transaction and page speed features that come with it; if you only run HTTP checks, you are paying for tooling you do not touch. At 500 checks the annual commitment is about $7,500, which is the point where shopping around pays for itself; our best Pingdom alternatives roundup covers the options.
If you also want Real User Monitoring, add the RUM step for your traffic on top. A 100-check Synthetics bundle plus 1 million pageviews of RUM is $149 + $118 = $267/mo on monthly billing, or $244/mo annual.
What does Pingdom Real User Monitoring cost?
Real User Monitoring is the second slider and is priced purely on pageviews per month, summed across all the sites you tag. Sites and users are unlimited, reports are shareable and data is kept for 13 months at every step.
| Pageviews per month | Monthly billing | Annual billing (per month) | Per 1M pageviews (monthly) |
|---|---|---|---|
| 100,000 | $18 | $16.50 | $180 |
| 250,000 | $40 | $36.33 | $160 |
| 500,000 | $78 | $71.50 | $156 |
| 1,000,000 | $118 | $107.83 | $118 |
| 5,000,000 | $352 | $322.33 | $70.40 |
The RUM ladder discounts more than Synthetics over the range I recorded: the cost per million pageviews drops from $180 at the entry step to $70.40 at 5 million, while Synthetics only moves from $1.80 to $1.30 per check between 10 and 1,000.
One oddity: the Enterprise card says it covers "500K to over 5M pageviews a month", yet the self-serve RUM slider already includes those volumes ($78 at 500,000, $352 at 5 million). My reading is that Enterprise is about contract terms and support rather than volume, but the page does not say, so treat that as my interpretation.
Synthetics vs RUM: which one do you actually need?
The two products answer different questions, and the pricing page does not explain the difference beyond the feature bullets.
Synthetic Monitoring runs checks from Pingdom's probes on a schedule: is the site up, does the login flow complete, how fast does the page load from the outside. It works before you have any traffic and it is what pages you at 3 a.m. This is the product to compare against uptime tools such as Hyperping, UptimeRobot or Better Stack.
Real User Monitoring measures what your actual visitors experience in their browsers: load times by country, browser and page. It tells you nothing when the site is down, since nobody is loading pages, and it is closer to an analytics product than an alerting one.
| Question | Synthetic Monitoring | Real User Monitoring |
|---|---|---|
| Is my site up right now? | Yes | No |
| Does checkout still work end to end? | Yes (advanced checks) | Only if a user tries it |
| How fast is the page for visitors in Brazil on mobile? | Approximate | Yes |
| Useful for a pre-launch or low-traffic site? | Yes | Barely |
| Priced by | Number of checks | Pageviews per month |
| Entry price | $18/mo | $18/mo |
If you are on Pingdom for alerting and status pages, you are paying for Synthetics, and that is the number to compare with other uptime tools. If RUM is why you are there, the comparison is with analytics and front-end performance products, and most flat-rate uptime tools (Hyperping included) do not replace it.
What the Pingdom pricing page does not tell you
I went through the page specifically to note where a buyer would have to ask sales or read the docs. These are the gaps:
- Check frequency is not stated. There is no mention of check interval or how often a probe hits your endpoint. SolarWinds docs recommend 1-minute uptime intervals and 5-minute transaction checks. For an uptime product this is the single most important spec after the price, and you will not find it on the pricing page.
- Status page limits are not stated. "Public status pages and reports" is listed as a feature at every step, with no count, no custom domain mention and no branding detail.
- The trial length is not stated. The page says the trial includes Synthetics and RUM and invites you to "start monitoring for free", but does not say how many days you get. The customers page lists 30 days.
- SMS overage is not stated. Each step bundles a fixed number of SMS credits (50 at the entry step, 1,000 at 500 and 1,000 checks). What an SMS costs once the pool is empty, and whether phone call alerts exist, is not on the page.
- Enterprise has no numbers. The card describes a pageview range and a "request quote" button and nothing else.
- Headline price and calculator disagree. Product pages still say "Starts at $10 per month." The USD calculator's first step is $18 monthly or $16.50 annually.
- Seat copy disagrees across pages. Pricing lists unlimited users. The alerting page says access for up to 15 team members.
None of these are unusual for an enterprise-oriented vendor. But if you are comparing Pingdom against tools that publish check intervals, status page counts and trial lengths on the pricing page, you are comparing a partial spec against a complete one, so ask for the missing details before you sign an annual contract.
Who does Pingdom pricing fit?
Choose Pingdom if you want Synthetics and RUM from one vendor and you have the traffic to make RUM worthwhile. The RUM ladder is fair at 1 million pageviews and up, and having both under one login is a real convenience for a web team that owns performance as well as availability.
Choose Pingdom if you have a large team that all needs a login. Unlimited users on every step means a 30-person engineering org pays the same as a 3-person one for the same check count, which is friendlier than per-seat or per-responder models, if the pricing-page claim is the one that holds. The same goes if you are already buying from SolarWinds and one vendor is easier for procurement.
Look elsewhere if you need 20 to 100 HTTP checks, a status page and on-call routing, and you do not use RUM or transaction checks. At $78 for 50 checks and $149 for 100, you are paying for features you are not going to open, and the pricing page does not tell you the check frequency or the status page limits you would be getting. The same applies if you want a permanent free tier for a side project, since Pingdom has none.
A flat-rate alternative for the uptime slice
This is the section where my stake is most obvious, so read it with that in mind. Hyperping is a flat-rate uptime, status page and on-call tool. It does not do Real User Monitoring, and if RUM is why you are on Pingdom, nothing below changes that.
For the Synthetic Monitoring slice, the comparison is direct. Hyperping plans include a fixed number of monitors, a check interval that is printed on the pricing page, status pages with a custom domain, and on-call scheduling with escalation policies. There are no sliders, and seats are priced explicitly.
| Setup | Pingdom Synthetic Monitoring (monthly billing) | Hyperping (monthly billing) |
|---|---|---|
| ~10 checks | $18/mo, 10 uptime + 1 advanced check, 50 SMS | $0/mo Free plan, 20 monitors at 5-minute checks, 1 status page, 1 seat |
| ~50 checks | $78/mo, 50 uptime checks | $29/mo Essentials, 50 monitors at 30-second checks, 1 status page with custom domain, 2 seats, on-call and escalation policies, phone call alerts, 20 SMS |
| ~100 checks | $149/mo, 100 uptime checks | $89/mo Pro, 100 monitors, 3 status pages, 5 seats, 75 SMS |
| ~500 to 1,000 checks | $680/mo for 500, $1,295/mo for 1,000 | $299/mo Business, 1,000 monitors at 20-second checks, 10 status pages, 15 seats, SAML SSO, audit logs, 200 SMS |
| Users | Unlimited (pricing page) | Bounded per plan, extra seats $7 to $12/mo each |
| Free tier | None (30-day trial) | Yes, 20 monitors |
| Annual discount | About 8% to 9% | Essentials $24/mo, Pro $74/mo, Business $249/mo billed yearly |
At 50 checks Pingdom is $78 against Hyperping Essentials at $29, about 2.7x. At 100 checks it is $149 against Pro at $89. At 1,000 checks it is $1,295 against Business at $299, a little over 4x. The Hyperping figures are on our pricing page with the check interval and status page count printed next to them, which is the part of Pingdom's page I most wish it had.
The trade-offs run the other way too. Pingdom gives you unlimited users on every step, where Hyperping bounds seats per plan and charges for extras, and Pingdom bundles more SMS at every level. If your team is 30 people who all need dashboards, the seat model on Hyperping costs more than the table suggests, and you should do that math before switching.
Choose Hyperping if you use Pingdom for uptime checks, a status page and alerting, you want on-call routing in the same tool, and you would rather see the check interval and status page count on the pricing page than ask sales for them.
Stay on Pingdom if you rely on RUM, you have a large user base that all needs access, or you are consolidating on SolarWinds.
For a wider view of the market, the Pingdom vs UptimeRobot vs Hyperping comparison walks through all three at 10, 50, 100 and 200-plus monitors, and the Pingdom alternative page covers how a Pingdom setup is rebuilt in Hyperping. Hyperping's paid plans come with a 14-day trial and no credit card, and the free plan has no time limit, so the cheapest way to test the comparison is to run both tools against the same endpoints for two weeks and see which one pages you first.
FAQ
How much does Pingdom cost per month? ▼
Pingdom Synthetic Monitoring starts at $18 per month ($16.50 per month on annual billing) for 10 uptime checks, 1 advanced check and 50 SMS credits. 50 uptime checks cost $78 per month, 100 cost $149 and 500 cost $680. Real User Monitoring is priced separately and also starts at $18 per month for 100,000 pageviews. Product pages still say 'Starts at $10 per month'; that is campaign copy, not the calculator.
Does Pingdom have a free plan? ▼
No. As of August 2026 the Pingdom pricing page offers a free trial that includes Synthetics and RUM, but no permanent free tier. The customers page lists a 30-day trial. If you need a permanent free tier, Hyperping (20 monitors) and UptimeRobot (50 monitors) both have one.
Does Pingdom charge per user? ▼
No. The pricing page lists unlimited users on both products, so the bill depends on how many checks or pageviews you buy, not on how many people log in. The alerting product page still says access for up to 15 team members. Treat the pricing-page claim as the one that matches the calculator, and confirm seats with sales if that matters.
What is the difference between Pingdom Synthetic Monitoring and Real User Monitoring pricing? ▼
Synthetic Monitoring is priced by the number of uptime and advanced (transaction) checks you run, from 10 to 30,000 uptime checks. Real User Monitoring is priced by monthly pageviews on your site. They are separate products with separate sliders, and you can buy one or both. A 100-uptime Synthetics bundle is $149 per month before any RUM.
Is Pingdom expensive compared to other uptime monitoring tools? ▼
At the entry level, $18 per month for 10 checks is in line with the market. The gap opens as you scale: 50 uptime checks cost $78 per month on Pingdom, while flat-rate tools such as Hyperping include 50 monitors, a status page and on-call for $29 per month. 100 uptime checks are $149 per month on Pingdom versus $89 on Hyperping Pro. Whether that matters depends on whether you need Pingdom's RUM and page speed features.
What is not shown on the Pingdom pricing page? ▼
The pricing page does not state the check frequency, the number of public status pages you can publish, the trial length, or what an SMS costs once the bundled credits run out. SolarWinds docs recommend 1-minute uptime intervals and 5-minute transaction checks. The customers page lists a 30-day trial. Enterprise pricing is quote-only.




